Bodo Accord 2020: Tripartite accord signed in New Delhi, all NDFB factions and ABSU part of the peace agreement

A tripartite accord for final settlement of demands in Bodoland was signed on Monday afternoon in New Delhi. Bodoland will now be named as Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR), and will have more administrative power. Cadres of all the four factions of NSFB will lay down arms on January 30. Union Home Minister Amit Shah announced […]

Assam on boil over Citizenship Amendment Bill; 2 dead

Guwahati: In Guwahati, where an indefinite curfew was imposed, the administration has snapped broadband internet services as anti-Citizenship Amendment Bill protests in Assam intensified. Two protesters succumbed to bullet injuries at the Gauhati Medical College and Hospital. Officials confirmed both of them were shot at, in two separate parts of the city. Meanwhile, an indefinite curfew […]

Inner Line Permit areas of Arunachal, Nagaland, Mizoram exempted from Citizenship Bill

Taking into consideration the concerns of Northeastern states, the inner line permit areas of Arunachal, Nagaland and Mizoram and regions under the Sixth Schedule in the North East have been exempted from the Citizenship Amendment Bill, which was cleared by the Union Cabinet on Wednesday. This means that beneficiaries under CAB will become Indian citizens […]

Assam gets 50 million euros from France for green cover

Guwahati, Nov. 4 (IANS): The French Development Agency (AFD) and the Assam Government have signed a 50 million euro project agreement towards supporting the state government’s initiative to restore Assam’s forest ecosystem and preserve its biodiversity. AFD Country Director Bruno Bosle and state’s Additional Chief Secretary (Environment and Forest Department) Jishnu Barua signed the agreement […]

NE United FC beat Odisha FC 2-1 in ISL

Guwahati, Oct 26 (Agencies) |NorthEast United FC beat Odisha FC 2-1 in their second match of the Indian Super League (ISL) season six on Saturday at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati. Redeem Tlang gave the home side the lead in the 2nd minute but Xisco Hernandez equalised for Odisha (71’). Asamoah Gyan netted his […]