The Naga People’s Front (NPF) on Tuesday suspended seven of its MLAs namely N. Thongwang Konyak, Eshak Konyak, E.E. Pangteang, B.S. Nganglang, Toyang Chang, Kejong Chang and C. L. John for supporting PDA candidate in the recently concluded Lok Sabha election.

The suspension came in after a show cause notice served to them for pledging support to PDA Government and the NDPP Candidate for the lone Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency.

In a release, NPF President, Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu stated that the Disciplinary Action Committee of the party after meticulously examining the replies to the Show Cause Notice and deliberation has recommended for suspension of their membership from both primary and active membership of the party with immediate effect and until further orders.

The Party President however stated that the suspended MLAs will be bound by the Whip of the Naga People’s Front on the floor of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly as per the existing law and judicial decisions of the Apex Court.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account