A protest meet against the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill (CAB) – 2016 was held today at Manipur Press Club, Imphal under the aegis of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M).

A release signed by secretary, CPI-M, Manipur State Committee, Kshetrimayum Santa informed that the meet was attended by cadres of the party along with other like-minded parties which included Communist Party of India (CPI), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), All India Forward Bloc (AIFB), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Peoples’ Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA).

Speaking on the occasion, Kshetrimayum Santa said that the party, as decided by the Polit Bureau of CPI-M, demands the withdrawal of the CAB- 2016 which was passed by the Lok Sabha on January 8 while also making an appeal to the like-minded parties and the public to stand united till the Bill is withdrawn. He also expressed that the call of the CPI(M) Polit Bureau to hold the ‘All India Protest Day against Citizenship Amendment Bill-2016’ is timely and his party and other like-minded parties support the call while also assuring that they will work and campaign together in Manipur .

In the meantime, explaining the Bill and its impact on the country in general and northeastern region in particular, secretariat member of CPI-M, Sarat Salam stated that the Bill is unconstitutional as it was against Article 14 and 15 of Construction of India and based on religious grounds. He further said that the party along with the like-minded parties will stood united tooth and nail against the bill while asserting that not only the opposition parties but some of the coalition partners of BJP are also against the Bill. Sarat Salam also appealed to the leaders of the Political Parties in Rajya Sabha irrespective of political and ideological differences to defeat the Bill in the interest of the country as a whole and the northeastern region of the country in particular.

Secretary AIFB, Kh. Gyaneshwor; president of NCP, S. Iboyaima; president, BSP, Manipur N. Kabita Devi; general secretary JD (S), K. Loken Singh and secretariat member, RSP, K. Manoranjan also gave public addresses on the occasion.


Sponsored Ads:

Flat 28% Off On Web Hosting


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account