PDA candidates

Naga News | Dimapur: The ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) has re-nominated sitting Lok Sabha MP, Tokheho Yepthomi for the ensuing Parliamentary polls and also nominated Sharingain Longkumer for the by-election to 26-Aonglenden A/C, to be held simultaneously on April 11, 2019.

Both Tokheho and Sharingain belong to the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party.

In 2018, Tokheho, the consensus candidate of the PDA, won the by-election to the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland, defeating opposition NPF candidate, C Apok Jamir, by a margin of 1,73,746 votes.

The Lok Sabha by-poll was necessitated after chief minister, Neiphiu Rio resigned from the Lower House of the Parliament to contest the Assembly elections held on February 28, 2018.

Meanwhile, following the demise of NDPP legislator, Imtikumzuk Longkumer in September 2018, the 26-Aonglenden A/C seat remained vacant since then.

In order to retain the seat, NDPP will field Sharingain Longkumer, son of former minister late Nungshizenba Longkumer and the general manager of Eastern Mirror, as the consensus candidate of the PDA allies comprising of BJP, NPP, JD(U) and Independent.

The by-election is crucial for the NDPP as the strength of the party in the Assembly has come down to 17 from 18 MLAs after the demise of Imtikumzuk Longkumer. Further, out of the 17 MLAs, the speaker is not taken into consideration except in a vote where there is a tie.

The ticket distribution for the PDA nominees is scheduled to be held on March 14 at NDPP Central headquarters, Chümoukedima.

While the PDA is all set to roll out its election machinery to retain the seat, the opposition NPF will also not let an opportunity go by in putting up a consensus candidate like the 2018 by-poll.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 TangkhulOnline.com

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account