UKHRUL | Jun 1: For the first time in the history of Manipur, the Tangkhul Football Players Association (TFPA) organised an award night to celebrate and honour the achievement and contributions made by individuals and institutions in bringing development of football in Tangkhul community at Town Hall, Ukhrul.

The red carpet programme was attended by MLA of 44-Ukhrul Alfred Kanngam Arthur, former national football player Somatai Shaiza, president of Football Players Association of India (FPAI), Renedy Singh and commanding officer of 27 Assam Rifles, colonel Rippon Bora.

MLA Alfred Kanngam Arthur in his speech lauded the organisers and assured the repairing of the existing TNL Ground and Bakshi Ground at the earliest and also extended financial assistance to the TFPA for taking football to a greater level. He implored and challenged the players gathered during the award night to set an example and soar higher and perform better than the past football players of Tangkhul.

Renedy Singh in his speech acknowledged the inborn quality and talents of football players especially from Ukhrul district. He opined that Ukhrul can produce many more talented players, become professional players and earn their living and live a dignified life.

The Award Night saw Wungngayam Muirang currently playing for Pune City winning the prestigious “Tangkhul Player of The Year” and “Tangkhul Players’ Player of the Year” title. Rungsing Muinao, playing for South United Club bagged the award for “Tangkhul Fans Player of the Year”.

Hormipam Ruivah of Minerva Punjab U-18, bagged the award “Tangkhul Emerging Player of the Year”.

The award night also witnessed the TFPA honouring the contributions made by various individuals in bringing development of the game in Tangkhul Community. Tangkhul football legend late major Bob Khathing Ralengnao, late Aleng Shimrah, and late M. Kazipmi were honoured.

Former national players and stars Somatai Shaiza and Reisangmi Vashum were honoured for their achievements and feats. Gift Raikhan, the first Tangkhul A-Licence Coach, Ringkhao Vashum, the first FIFA Assistant Referee from Tangkhul and Phaningmi Shingnaisui retired SAI coach were also honoured for their achievements.

The TFPA also honoured the Assam Rifles for their zealous contribution and promotion of football in Tangkhul area. It is worth mentioning that the Assam Rifles has been conducting one of the famous and biggest football tournaments Maj Bob Khathing Ralengnao Football Tournament for the past 8 years in Ukhrul District. They have also initiated the Maj Bob Khathing Ralengnao Baby League this year in association with Ukhrul FC, the second of its kind in India after Meghalaya.

The Yarkhok United FC, winner of Winners’ Cup 2019, the first club from Ukhrul to clinch the coveted title was also honoured for their feat. They will be also the first club from Ukhrul district to play in the next edition of Manipur State League.

The Araang League which have conducted football tournament in Ukhrul district since 2013 was also honoured.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account